Republicans regain control of House


One-party rule at the State Capitol is out after Republicans recaptured control of the House of Representatives during Tuesday’s elections.

Two years after being swept from legislative power by a wave of DFL victories, Republicans picked up wins in a handful of key races to hold a 72-62 edge in the House.

The DFL will retain control of the governorship, with Gov. Mark Dayton winning re-election. The Senate, under DFL control, did not stand for election. The Legislature is scheduled to convene Jan. 6, 2015.

The District 48A race between Rep. Yvonne Selcer (DFL-Minnetonka) and former Republican House member Kirk Stensrud was decided by 36 votes in favor of Selcer. Stensrud could request a recount.

State Canvassing Board members are scheduled to meet Nov. 25 to certify Tuesday’s results.

House Republican and DFL caucuses are anticipated to fill leadership positions later this week. Committee structure is anticipated to be laid out later this month, and committee membership is traditionally formalized in December.

New members-elect (unofficial)

Dave Hancock (R) District 2A
Joshua Heintzeman (R) District 10A
Dale Lueck (R) District 10B
Jason Rarick (R) District 11B
Jeff Backer (R) District 12A
Jim Knoblach (R) District 14B
Tim Miller (R) District 17A
Dave Baker (R) District 17B
Bob Vogel (R) District 20A
Brian Daniels (R) District 24B
Nels Pierson (R) District 26B
Peggy Bennett (R) District 27A
Eric Lucero (R) District 30B
Dennis Smith (R) District 34B
Abigail Whelan (R) District 35A
Jim Nash (R) District 47A
Kelly Fenton (R) District 53B
Bob Loonan (R) District 55A
Drew Christensen (R) District 56A
Roz Peterson (R) District 56B
Jon Koznick (R) District 58A
Jon Applebaum (DFL) District 44B
Jennifer Schultz (DFL) District 7A
Jack Considine (DFL) District 19B
Cheryl Youakim (DFL) District 46B
Dave Pinto (DFL) District 64B