Hennepin County primary election on TUESDAY, April 29


Election time already? You bet! The April 29 primary election will narrow the field of candidates for the District 3 Hennepin County Commissioner race to succeed Gail Dorfman, who resigned from her seat. Then a special election on May 13 will choose a winner from the primary election’s top two vote-getters. You can find more information on all six of the Hennepin County Commissioner candidates here. They are Anne Mavity, Bob Reuer, Ben Schweigert, Ken Kelash, Marion Green, and Bob “Again” Carney, Jr.

District 3 covers St. Louis Park and parts of downtown and west Minneapolis.

Minneapolis school board: DFL endorsements

Current school board member Rebecca Gagnon and newcomer Iris Altamirano won the DFL endorsement for the two citywide school board seats at the DFL convention on Saturday. Andrew Minck and Ira Jourdain also sought citywide endorsement — time will tell whether either of them mounts a primary challenge.

Two perennial candidates — Doug Mann and Dick Velner — will also be on the ballot in the August 12 primary election.

The other two school board seats at issue in November’s election are for District 5, where Nelson Inz won endorsement easily over Jay Larson, and for District 3, where Siad Ali won endorsement for the seat currently held by Mohamud Noor, who’s leaving the school board to run for the Minnesota legislature.

Minneapolis school board districts are the same as park board districts. Here’s the map:

Coverage of the 2014 elections is funded in part by a grant from The Minneapolis Foundation.