Ten finalists named for St. Paul school board spot


After five hours of hearing from candidates on Thursday night, the St. Paul Board of Education named 10 finalists for the spot that became vacant upon the resignation of Vallay Varro. The ten are:

Ted Davis
Amy Walker Filice
Anne Kelly
Neng Lee
Tim Lee
David Martinez
Luis Ortega
Dave Pinto
Jeff Risberg
Avinash Viswanathan

A total of 41 people had applied for the one-year opening. The call for applicants specified that the new member would agree to serve for only one year and not to run for the full term in the November 2011 election.

A second round of interviews is scheduled to take place Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011 at 5:00 p.m., after which the Board will make its determination of an appointee. According to the school board’s press release, the new member will be formally seated at the regularly scheduled Board of Education meeting Tuesday, February 15, 2011. That’s one month before the board is scheduled to vote on the three-year strategic plan announced yesterday.