MOVIES | When too many cooks don’t spoil the broth: Oscar nominee “The Hurt Locker” an exception to Academy rules, with four producers credited


The Hurt Locker, a contender for Best Picture in this year’s Oscar race, has been given the distinction of “extraordinary circumstances” in the listing of its producers, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced this week.

Producer credits were unlisted for films The Hurt Locker and The Blind Side at the time of the Oscar nomination announcement on Tuesday.

Academy rules state that normally no more than three producers may be named as nominees in the Best Picture category. The Hurt Locker named four producers.

However, the rules allow for an additional producer to be named under extraordinary circumstances. In finding that all of the producers of The Hurt Locker had fully functioned as genuine producers of the film, the committee chose to exercise the “extraordinary circumstances” provision of the rules, according to the Academy.

The Academy determined producer credits for Best Picture nominees The Hurt Locker and The Blind Side as:

  • The Blind Side: Gil Netter, Andrew A. Kosove, and Broderick Johnson
  • The Hurt Locker: Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, and Greg Shapiro

Kathryn Bigelow is also a nominee for Achievement in Directing for The Hurt Locker; The Blind Side did not receive a nomination for the directing award.

Producers for the other eight motion pictures nominated in the Best Picture category—Avatar, District 9, An Education, Inglourious Basterds, Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire, A Serious Man, Up, and Up in the Air—remain unchanged.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2009 will be presented on Sunday, March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, and televised live on ABC.