Met Council redistricting plan takes effect


The Metropolitan Council has new district boundaries.

A redistricting plan that redraws the Met Council’s 16 districts took effect May 17, 2013, the day after Gov. Mark Dayton signed a new law.

Legislators considered several plans before settling on MC2013-1A, the map endorsed by administrators at the Met Council.

To ensure that each district represents roughly the same number of people, the Legislature must redraw the council’s district boundaries every 10 years, after each federal census.

The Met Council, which was created to coordinate orderly growth of the seven-county metro area, provides regional services related to public transportation, wastewater treatment and affordable housing.

Rep. Mike Nelson (DFL-Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Melissa Wiklund (DFL-Bloomington) sponsor the law.

HF1684/ SF1564*/CH66