Live Legislative TV coverage to be available statewide


When the legislative session starts on Feb. 12, the Minnesota Legislature, for the first time, will begin statewide, over-the-air broadcasting of legislative television coverage live from the Minnesota State Capitol. Coverage will be provided Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., with extended evening and weekend coverage available for debates on high-profile issues.

This live legislative television coverage will be broadcast on a public television digital television service called the Minnesota Channel.

Legislative television coverage is nonpartisan, evenly balanced between the House and Senate, and includes issue-oriented press conferences and other special events.

Viewers can subscribe to the daily broadcast schedule mailing list by going to, choosing “TV Schedules” and typing in their e-mail address. The House & Senate Broadcast Television Schedule is also available online at

For more than 10 years, the Minnesota Legislature has been producing high-quality, nonpartisan, gavel-to-gavel legislative television coverage of House and Senate floor sessions, select committee hearings, press conferences and special events.

Here’s where viewers can find the Minnesota Channel:
Twin Cities Public Television TPT Channel 17-2
WDSE – Duluth Channel 8.4
Pioneer Public Television-Appleton KWCM channel 10-3 (west central Minnesota) or KSMN channel 20-3 (southeastern Minnesota)
KSMQ-Austin chanel 15.4
Lakeland Public Television-Bemidji (KAWE channel 9-6 (Bemidji area) or KAWB channel 22-6 (Brainerd Lakes area)
Prairie Public-Fargo KCGE channel 16-3 (Crookston/East Grand Forks area) and KFME chanel 13-3 (Moorhead/Fergus Falls area)

Twin Cities – Comcast channel 202 in Minneapolis and channel 243 in St. Paul; Mediacom channel 102
Duluth – Charter channel 396
Lakeland – Paul Bunyan channel 334
Cambridge – U.S. Cable channel 55
Eveleth/Chisholm – Mediacom channel 13
Fergus Falls – Charter channel 18
Grand Rapids – Itasca Community Television channel 7
Hibbing – Range TV Cable & Broadband channel 24
Mankato – Charter channel 12
Marshall – Charter channel 19
Rural Wood Lake – U.S. Cable channel 47
Rural Waseca – U.S. Cablechannel 6
Thief RiverFalls – Sjoberg’s Inc. channel 34
Willmar – Charter channel 19