april, 2018

15apr7:00 pm10:00 pmDreamy Dreamers with S. Dakota Poet Laureate Lee Ann Roriipaugh


Event Details

The big reveal!! Holy cow, we are so thrilled to host our next Poetry Asylum Reading at Moon Palace Books on Saturday, April 14th at 7pm, featuring not only one, but THREE visiting poets to the Twin Cities!

Please join us to welcome our esteemed guests: South Dakota Poet Laureate (& Milkweed Editions poet) Lee Ann Roripaugh, the incandescent Tiana Clark (currently a fellow at WICW), and New Haven-based poet Jason Labbe to Minneapolis! Joining them are our local superstars!: St. Paul’s inaugural Youth Poet Laureate Donte Collins, and our amazing friends D. Allen and Chaun Webster––all three poets with newly published or upcoming books!!! Please find their amazing bios below.

The cafe at Moon Palace Books is now open––so come and enjoy their delicious selection of pizzas, salads, and sandwiches named after famous writers, and wash it down with some wine or beer. Then we’ll head over to Assembly for the after-party so you can meet our out-of-town guests!! THIS IS A FREE EVENT! ALL ARE WELCOME!

D. Allen is a queer poet and multidisciplinary artist whose work often examines what it means to live in a genderqueer, disabled body. They have recently received a Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Initiative Grant, a Minnesota Emerging Writers’ Grant from The Loft Literary Center, a Lighthouse Works Fellowship, and an MFA from the University of Minnesota. D. is currently gathering research for a hybrid lyric memoir.


Tiana Clark is currently the 2017-2018 Jay C. and Ruth Halls Poetry Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute of Creative Writing. Her first full-length collection, I Can’t Talk About the Trees Without the Blood (University of Pittsburgh Press, forthcoming September 2018), won the 2017 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. She is also the author of Equilibrium (Bull City Press, 2016), selected by Afaa Michael Weaver for the 2016 Frost Place Chapbook Competition. She is the winner of the 2017 Furious Flower’s Gwendolyn Brooks Centennial Poetry Prize, 2016 Academy of American Poets University Prize, and 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize. Her writing has appeared in or is forthcoming from The New Yorker, Kenyon Review, American Poetry Review, New England Review, Best New Poets 2015, BOAAT, Crab Orchard Review, Thrush, The Journal, and elsewhere. Clark is the recipient of scholarships to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, Sewanee Writers’ Conference, and Frost Place Poetry Seminar. In the fall of 2018, she will be teaching creative writing at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.


Donte Collins is a poet. Named the first Youth Poet Laureate of Saint Paul, Minnesota, they are the author of “Autopsy” (Button Poetry, 2017) and winner of the 2016 Most Promising Young Poet Award from the Academy of American Poets. Collins is the recipient of the 2016 Mitchell Prize in Poetry and is currently a junior at Augsburg College. They are an alum of TruArtSpeaks, a non-profit arts organization based out of the Twin Cities cultivating literacy, leadership and social justice through the study & application of Hip Hop culture.


Born in New Britain, CT and raised by a machinist and a waitress, Jason Labbe earned his MFA from the University of Virginia, where he was a Henry Hoys Fellow. He is the author of a full-length collection, Spleen Elegy (BlazeVOX, 2017), and a handful of chapbooks, including Dear Photographer (Phylum Press), and Blackwash Canal. His poems, reviews, and nonfiction appear or are forth coming in Poetry, A Public Space, Boston Review, Conjunctions, Colorado Review, DIAGRAM, American Book Review, Indiana Review, and The Brooklyn Rail. Also a drummer and recording engineer, he has worked with many artists in New England and New York City. He splits his time between Bethany, Connecticut and Brooklyn, New York. jasonlabbe.info


Lee Ann Roripaugh is the author of four volumes of poetry: Dandarians (Milkweed, Editions, 2014), On the Cusp of a Dangerous Year (Southern Illinois University Press, 2009), Year of the Snake (Southern Illinois University Press, 2004), and Beyond Heart Mountain (Penguin, 1999). A fifth volume, tsunami vs. the fukushima 50, is forthcoming from Milkweed in 2018. She was named winner of the Association of Asian American Studies Book Award in Poetry/Prose for 2004, and a 1998 winner of the National Poetry Series. The current South Dakota State Poet Laureate, Roripaugh is a Professor of English at the University of South Dakota, where she serves as Director of Creative Writing and Editor-in-Chief of South Dakota Review.


Chaun Webster is a poet and graphic designer whose work draws from an interest in the sign of graffiti, the layering of collage, simultaneity, & the visuality of text. Webster utilizes these methods in investigating race – specifically the instability of blackness and black subjectivities, geography, memory, and the body. Correspondingly much of these investigations engage the question of absence, how to archive what is missing from the landscape particularly as a number of communities watch, in real time, neighborhoods once populated with familiar presences dissolve in the vernacular of redevelopment and its attendant colonial logic. Webster’s first book, Gentry!fication: or the scene of the crime, is forthcoming from Noemi Press in the April of 2018.


(Sunday) 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Moon Palace Books

3032 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis MN


Poetry Asylum