Election Ramsey County


For links to candidate information, see our 2014 Election Spreadsheet.

According to the Association of Minnesota Counties, “County commissioners are elected officials who oversee county activities and work to ensure that citizen concerns are met, federal and state requirements are fulfilled, and county operations run smoothly.”

Commissioners plan a budget to provide services that the state delegates to county level government. Services include county roadway maintenance, human service programs such as food stamps and medical assistance, and overseeing the number and payment of county employees.




Ramsey County Commissoner 

District 3

Girard Goder

Janice Rettman

District 4

Toni Carter

District 5

Charles  Barklind

Rafael Ortega

District 6

Jim McDonough


Ramsey County Attorney

John Choi

Ramsey County Sheriff

Matt Bostrom

Ramsey Conservation (Supervisor Soil and Water Supervisor) 

District 1 

Paul Gardner

District 4

Carrie Wasley

Tom Petersen