2008 Minnesota Ethnic and Community Media Awards

(Click here to download: http://www.scribd.com/doc/22902805/Award-Booklet-082009 )

The Twin Cities Media Alliance is proud to present the winners of the first annual Minnesota Ethnic and Community Media Awards.

These awards, presented in partnership with New America Media, are our effort to bring recognition to the best work by local grassroots journalists. The news organizations that they represent make a vital contribution to the health of the communities that they serve, and also to the vitality of the larger Twin Cities community. Many of these publications operate on very limited budgets even in the best of times, and in the current economic climate, they face enormous challenges.

An important part of our mission at the Twin Cities Media Alliance is to support the work of local grassroots media. We accomplish that mission by offering citizen journalism classes and media skills workshops; by helping these media organizations reach a larger audience through republication in the Twin Cities Daily Planet, and through publication of our Minnesota Ethnic and Community Media Directory.*

The awards, presented on December 5, 2008 in Minneapolis by Anthony Advincula of New America Media and Sarah Bauer of the Minnesota News Council, were given in five categories: Investigative / In Depth; Editorial/ Commentary; Global/Local; Community Service; and Arts and Culture. The top winner in each category received a $200 award, a trophy and a certificate, and are automatically nominated for New America Media’s National Ethnic Media awards, which will be presented on June 4, 2009, in Atlanta, Georgia. Second place winners received $100 and a certificate, while third place and honorable mention winners received a certificate.

Major funding for the awards was provided by New America Media, with additional funding from Everyday Democracy: Ideas and Tools for Community Change; the University of Minnesota Press; and Brant Houston, Knight Chair in Investigative & Enterprise Reporting, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. To download our awards booklet, click on link below.