“I Love to Eat”: James Beard tells all at Illusion Theater


Attention foodies: Garry Geiken serves up a delicious impersonation of legendary American foodie James Beard in Illusion Theater’s production of I Love to Eat: a love story with food. The one-man show is more character study than drama, but Geiken succeeds in bringing a fascinating character to life. During the performance, Geiken prepares some of Beard’s signature onion sandwiches, and a few lucky audience members get a chance to taste them.

There will be more food for thought after the Wednesday, May 8 performance, when several local James Beard Award-winners, including Isaac Becker (112 Eatery, Bar La Grassa, Burch), Nick Kramarczuk (Kramarczuk’s, 2013 winner James Beard Foundation “America’s Classics”), and Tim McKee (La Belle Vie) will participate in a panel discussion on Beard’s impact on the local and national cooking scene.  The panel will be moderated by veteran Twin Cities food writer Sue Zelickson, herself a James Beard award winner for food journalism.

For more details, or to purchase tickets, visit the Illusion Theater website. Upcoming shows are on: 

Thursday, May 2 @ 8pm
Friday, May 3 @ 8pm
Saturday, May 4 @ 8pm
Sunday, May 5 @ 7pm
Wednesday, May 8 @ 10am
Wednesday, May 8 @ 7pm – Post-show panel with James Beard Award-winning chefs
Thursday, May 9 @ 8pm
Friday, May 10 @ 8pm
Saturday, May 11 @ 8pm – Culinary Night with Art Institutes International 
Sunday, May 12 @ 7pm – Culinary Night with Art Institutes International 
Thursday, May 16 @ 8pm – Illusion Theater Birthday Benefit
Friday, May 17 @ 8pm
Saturday, May 18 @ 8 pm – Closing

Coverage of issues and events affecting Central Corridor communities is funded in part by a grant from the Central Corridor Funders Collaborative.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *